Multibillion development for Tshwane

Sun International to spend R3 billion

An elaborate multibillion development is planned for Tshwane
Multibillion development planned for Tshwane

Sun International has announced plans to create a new R3 billion urban entertainment destination at Menlyn in Tshwane’s eastern suburbs. They have made an application to the Gauteng Gambling Board to amend its Morula casino licence to relocate the casino from Mabopane to Menlyn.

In the Menlyn area, a new large scale mixed-use 'Green City' project called Menlyn Maine is currently underway. The development will include a new shopping mall, high-end residential component, an office park, hotels and an entertainment node – which is the component that Sun International will provide with its proposed R3 billion scheme called Time Square at Menlyn Maine.

Time Square at Menlyn Maine will offer a five-star hotel and conference centre with 100 luxury rooms and 10 suites to cater for the diplomatic travel market, support the business traveller and encourage overnight stays in Tshwane. It will also feature an indoor entertainment arena seating 8 000 people for concerts, sports events and exhibitions.

The company is considering alternative uses for the existing Morula property, including the possibility of using it as a hospitality school for the region. Should the necessary regulatory approvals be granted, Sun International will immediately commence detailed planning. Physical construction of the new entertainment destination is estimated to take 30 months and will be completed in one phase.

comments powered by Disqus


This edition

Issue 61


exploresa_mag The National Empowerment Fund (NEF) and 8 of its investees recently exhibited at Africa’s Travel Indaba 2019, which… 25 days - reply - retweet - favorite

exploresa_mag Nuy on the hill restaurant wants to help you treat your mom this Mother’s Day, Sunday, 12 May.… 2 months - reply - retweet - favorite

exploresa_mag #Technology is revolutionising #travel. To keep growing its #tourism industry, #SouthAfrica must continuously inves… 2 months - reply - retweet - favorite